Top listeners:

skip_previous play_arrow skip_next
00:00 00:00
  • cover play_arrow

    SVP RADIO Start Listening

  • cover play_arrow

    Back on This Day – Living Large October 27, 1987 DJ Jaz

Back on This Day

Back on This Day – Whodini October 13, 1983

todayOctober 13, 2021

share close

Whodini – Whodini


On this day, October 13, 1983.

Whodini is the self-titled debut record by Whodini. Released 1983 on Jive Records. The album had two hit singles, “Magic’s Wand” and “The Haunted House of Rock.” Conny Plank handled the audio production, Heatwave’s Roy Carter, Thomas Dolby, and the Willesden Dodgers (Nigel Green, Pete Q. Harris, Richard Joh Smith).

The record itself did not reach any significant music chart. Thomas Dolby produced the single “Magic’s Wand,” which hit number #11 on the Dance Club charts and 45th on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop charts. “The Haunted House of Rock” peaked at #27 on the top Dance Club Songs and #55 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop charts.

Coming out of the New York rap scene of the early ’80s, Whodini was one of the first rap artists to add an R&B twist to their music, thus laying the foundation for a new genre – new jack swing.

 Six records the group has released in total.


Track List

  1. The Haunted House Of Rock
  2. Nasty Lady
  3. Underground
  4. It’s All In Mr. Magic’s Wand
  5. Magic’s Wand
  6. Yours For A Night
  7. Rap Machine
  8. The Haunted House Of Rock (Vocoder Version)


“Magic’s Wand,” a rap about radio pioneer Mr. Magic, became the first rap song to receive a music video. Thomas Dolby helped produce this single. “Magic’s Wand” is one of Whodini’s most sampled songs.


  1. Magic’s Wand B Major, 1B, 112 BPM (5:38)
  2. It’s All In Mr. Magic’s Wand
  3. Magic’s Wand (Special Extended Mix)

The second single. “Haunted House of Rock,” released for Halloween. 

  1. The Haunted House Of Rock (Extended Version) B♭ Minor, 3A 107 BPM (6:32)
  2. The Haunted House Of Rock (Haunted Mix)
  3. The Haunted House Of Rock (Vocoder Version)
  4. The Haunted House Of Rock (Acapella)



I love mixing Whodini — Magic’s Wand with Newcleus — Jam On Revenge (The Wikki Wikki Song) E Major 12B 112 BPM (6:36); they have similar tempos, and keep that Classic Hip Hop going. 


Written by: DJ Jaz

Previous post

Back on This Day

Back on This Day

A Tribe Called Quest - The Love Movement Sept 29, 1998 The Love Movement is the fifth studio album by American hip hop group A Tribe Called Quest and their last album, released before the death of group member Phife Dawg in March 2016. Released on September 29, 1998, by Jive Records, it is a concept album exploring the lyrical theme of love. A continuation of the group’s previous album, […]

todaySeptember 29, 2021 3